National Museum of Arts Naïves Cesare Zavattini

Learn

National Museum of Arts Naïves Cesare Zavattini

It was founded in 1967, after the first edition of the Prize conceived by Cesare Zavattini - a famous writer, screenwriter and journalist from Luzzara - and located in the former Augustinian Convent (Church of the SS. Annunziata, in “località Villa Superiore”).

The preserved pieces - by various Italian and foreign authors - are about 500, thus representing a unique heritage dedicated to the Naive Art in Italy. The museum is managed by the “Fondazione un Paese” (“Un Paese” Foundation) - an institution established by the Municipality of Luzzara in 2002. In addition to the museum, there is an educational workshop and it is possible to admire graphic, photographic and bio-bibliographic works, testifying to the history of Naive Art in Italy, and photographic projects dedicated to Luzzara (“Un paese”, “Un paese vent’anni dopo”, “Luzzara. Cinquant’anni e più”) by Paul Strand, Gianni Berengo Gardin, Cesare Zavattini, … In the museum have been collected, ordered and exhibited all kinds of documents, testifying to the local, national and international Naive activity: paintings, drawings, sculptures, engravings, books, newspapers, magazines, films, photographs, catalogues, magnetic tapes and slides related to this 20th-century artistic production, in the spirit of the original and primitive genuineness of the artistic language.

Nearby

foto n 2 emergenza n 35 Chiesa Parrocchiale di San Giorgio2

Parish Church of San Giorgio


It was probably built at the end of the 11th century, in Romanesque style, and renovated several times. It was rebuilt from 1676 in Baroque style - except for the apse, which is still Romanesque. In 2000, crypt excavations led to several findings, such as capitals, columns and frescoes from the original Romanesque building and shards dating back to the previous period. In the inside, it preserves some 16th-century paintings, such as the altarpiece portraying the “Vergine col Bambino tra S. Giorgio e S. Girolamo” (Giuliesca School) modeled after a sketch by Giulio Romano kept in the Louvre Museum.