Bronze Statues of Peppone and Don Camillo

Discover

Bronze Statues of Peppone and Don Camillo

On June 2001, on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the first film, two bronze statues of the two characters created by Andrea Zangani were placed on Piazza Matteotti: the one depicting Don Camillo close to the church;  Peppone one in front of the town hall.

Nearby

monastero san benedetto brescello

Monastery of San Benedetto


Following a legacy by the Duchess Eleonora d'Este, in the second half of the 15th century, the Benedictine nuns became owners of the Monastery, until the advent of the Cisalpine Republic. Then, in 1758, the religious order was suppressed. As early as 1553, the Monastery was home to a school for convent girls. Later, in 1798, the Monastery was suppressed. In 1873, the Municipality of Brescello became owner of the building and transformed it into a military barrack. At the beginning of the 20th century, the building wing overlooking “Via Primo Maggio” was used as an elementary school, whereas most of the building was residential or the seat of small workshops. In 1933, the south and west wings were demolished, while the main body of the building housed the “Casa del Fascio”, and served as a location for meetings and orchestra rehearsals.